How to Make Arrangements With Your Employer to Go to Rehab in New Jersey

If you\’re planning to go to rehab in New Jersey, you\’re probably feeling a little nervous about the process. That\’s perfectly normal. What\’s important is that you\’re taking charge of your life and getting the help you need. One of the steps you\’ll need to take before entering your rehab program is talking to your employer about your need for leave.

Before you tell your boss that you plan to go to recovery, do research on the drug and alcohol policy for your company. When there isn\’t a policy, you should check on the healthcare policies for ill employees.

The best thing you can do is be honest with your boss. It\’s possible that you\’ll have access to resources such as the Employee Assistance Program. These might include referrals to a physician, counseling, or a referral to a particular treatment center.

Being honest with your boss will help indicate that you care about your job and are a person with integrity. With your employer\’s support behind you, you\’ll have a better chance for successful substance abuse recovery.

There\’s more good news: Your job should be safe thanks to protections in the Family and Medical Leave Act.

What the Family and Medical Leave Act Means for Treatment

The Family and Medical Leave Act is a piece of legislation that protects your right to take time off work to care for a family member or medical issue. FMLA is what allows employees to take maternity and paternity leave, as well as undergo treatments for health issues.

Addiction and substance use disorders qualify as one of the protected medical conditions under FMLA. You are entitled to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave from your job without being fired. There are some qualifications:

  • You must have been employed for at least 12 months
  • You must have worked for a minimum of 1,250 hours during the 12 months that preceded FMLA leave
  • You must be employed by a company that has 50 or more employees who work within 75 miles of your work site

If you meet these qualifications, you can go to rehab for up to 12 weeks without being penalized. You will need to inform your employer that you intend to leave within at least 30 days before your actual leaving date. You\’ll also need to give them your reason for leaving. From there, it\’s their responsibility to approve the leave. Call us today for more information at 833-610-1174.

Fill out the form below, and we will be in touch shortly.
Max. file size: 32 MB.
Max. file size: 32 MB.