Alcohol and drug abuse don’t just harm the person that is using. Addiction can cause a ripple effect that causes problems for their loved ones, friends, co-workers, and even the community. If you have been arrested and convicted of a DUI, or driving under the influence, you will likely have your driver’s license taken away from you for some time. You may be wondering, will a drug treatment program in New Jersey help me get my license back after a DUI? Let’s read on to learn more.
Driving Under the Influence in New Jersey
You will be guilty of a DUI in New Jersey if you are caught operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher. You can also be in violation if you operate a motor vehicle while you are under the influence of a hallucinogenic or narcotic. Consuming just a small amount of alcohol or experiencing a small high before getting behind the wheel will dull your senses, decrease your reaction time, and impair your vision and judgment.
If you are caught driving under the influence in New Jersey, expect the following to occur:
• You’ll be fined up to $450
• Jail time for up to 30 days
• You’ll forfeit your driver’s license until you have an ignition interlock installed on your vehicle. This device must remain in place for three months
• A $1,000 a year surcharge on your automobile insurance for three years
• Possible probation time, depending on your background and history
What to Expect From the Court
If this is your first DUI, you will lose your license. For subsequent offenses, you will likely lose your license for an even longer period of time. You may be wondering if the act of checking into rehab will help you get your license back. This will depend on how you are charged.
If you have a lawyer, they may be able to negotiate with the courts concerning your sentence. For your first DUI offense, you will have to attend an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center class for two consecutive days, six hours each day. You may also choose to enter rehab to get your drinking or drug use under control. If you do, your lawyer may be able to negotiate a deal with the courts to get your license back sooner than you should. However, this will depend on the judge handling your case. If it is your first offense, they may be more lenient with you. If it is your second or third DUI, you may have more trouble getting your license back sooner than normal.
Why Rehab Will Help
No matter what the circumstances, committing your time and energy to a local rehab will help you in the long run. It may or may not help you get your license back after receiving a DUI, but it will help you learn how to live without the crutch of drugs or alcohol. If this is your first DUI and you only had a couple of drinks, you may feel as if rehab isn’t for you. But in reality, you never know how out of hand your drinking could get or if you would turn to drugs in the future. Use the time in rehab to learn more about yourself and the dangers of alcohol and drugs. It won’t be a wasted time, and it will show the courts that you are serious about your recovery efforts!
What to Expect
If you need it, detox services will be made available to you from the very beginning. If you are not currently in withdrawal, then you may not even need them. You’ll start off with therapy sessions instead, which are the biggest part of rehab. You will be provided your own private therapist to talk to one-on-one, and you will attend group therapy sessions. Rehab gives you the chance to slow down and connect with yourself. Use this opportunity to better yourself and to show the courts that you have the ability to change. Even if you don’t get your license back quicker, you will still gain something from a stay in rehab.
Stop by or Call Today
You may or may not be court-ordered to attend rehab. We can help you either way! Let us set up a time for you to come and tour the property. We’ll show you what we offer and how you can use our services to make yourself a better person. Our number is 833-610-1174 We look very forward to your call!